Feb 8, 2011
Curtis Rogers

South Carolina Book Award Nominees Announced

On behalf of the South Carolina Association of School Librarians and the South Carolina Book Award Program, we are pleased to announce the nominees for the 2011-2012 Picture, Children’s, Junior, and Young Adult Book Awards.

Picture Book Award Nominees

14 Cows for America by Carmen Agra Deedy

About Penguins: A Guide for Children by Cathryn P. Sill

All the World by Elizabeth Garton Scanlon

Back of the Bus by Aaron Reynolds

Bridget’s Beret by Tom Lichtenheld

Frankie Works the Night Shift by Lisa Westberg Peters

The Hair of Zoe Fleefenbacher Goes to School by Laurie Halse Anderson

The Hallelujah Flight by Phil Bildner

Hot Rod Hamster! by Cynthia Lord

Jackson & Bud’s Bumpy Ride by Elizabeth Koehler-Pentacoff

Let’s Do Nothing! by Tony Fucile

LMNO Peas by Keith Baker

Miss Brooks Loves Books (and I Don’t) by Barbara Bottner

My Garden by Kevin Henkes

Panda Kindergarten by Joanne Ryder

Ready for Anything! by Keiko Kasza

Sophie Peterman Tells the Truth! by Sarah Weeks

Testing the Ice: A True Story About Jackie Robinson by Sharon Robinson

Under the Snow by Melissa Stewart

We’re All in the Same Boat by Zachary Shapiro

Children’s Book Award Nominees

11 Birthdays by Wendy Mass

Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy US Marshal by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson

Captain Nobody by Dean Pitchford

The Case of the Case of Mistaken Identity by Mac Barnett

The Christmas Genie by Dan Gutman

Everything for a Dog by Ann M. Martin

Extra Credit by Andrew Clements

January’s Sparrow by Patricia Polacco

Justin Case: School, Drool and Other Daily Disasters by Rachel Vail

Letters to a Soldier by David Falvey

Love, Aubrey by Suzanne LaFleur

The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick

Neil Armstrong Is My Uncle and Other Lies Muscle Man McGinty Told Me by Nan Marino

Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper

The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan

The Small Adventures of Popeye and Elvis by Barbara O’Connor

Tango: The Tale of an Island Dog by Eileen Beha

Touchdown Trouble by Fred Bowen

We Can’t All Be Rattlesnakes by Patrick Jennings

Wild River by P.J. Petersen

Junior Book Award Nominees

All the Broken Pieces: A Novel in Verse by Ann E. Burg

Also Known As Harper by Ann Haywood Leal

Anything But Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin

Bystander by James Preller

Callie’s Rules by Naomi Flink Zucker

The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

Faith, Hope and Ivy June by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

Heart of a Shepherd by Rosanne Parry

If the Witness Lied by Caroline B. Cooney

The Indigo Notebook by Laura Resau

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Lifting the Sky by Mackie D’Arge

Marching for Freedom by Elizabeth Partridge

Mission Control, This Is Apollo by Andrew Chaikin

Operation Redwood by Susannah T. French

The Potato Chip Puzzles by Eric Berlin

Skeleton Creek by Patrick Carman

Slob by Ellen Potter

A Taste for Red by Lewis Harris

War Games: A Novel Based on a True Story by Audrey Couloumbis

Young Adult Book Award Nominees

Angry Management by Chris Crutcher

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Brutal by Michael B. Harmon

The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams

Diary of a Witness by Carol Ryan Hyde

Dirty Little Secrets by Cynthia Jaynes Omololu

The Ghosts of War: The True Story of a 19-Year-Old GI by Ryan Smithson

Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines

Gray Baby: A Novel by Scott Loring Sanders

Hate List by Jennifer Brown

Hold Still by Nina LaCour

Into the Wild Nerd Yonder by Julie Halpern

King of the Screwups by K.L. Going

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Muchacho: A Novel by LouAnne Johnson

Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough

Purple Heart by Patricia McCormick

Rock ‘n’ Roll Soldier: A Memoir by Dean Ellis Kohler

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Unsigned Hype: A Novel by Booker T. Mattison

The purposes of the South Carolina book awards are to encourage our students to read good quality contemporary literature and to honor the authors of the books annually chosen the favorites by student vote. The book award medals will be awarded to the winning authors the following year at the annual conference of the South Carolina Association of School Librarians.

If you have any questions or would like more information about this program, please contact Jennifer Kauffman or Kelly Knight, South Carolina Book Award Program Co-Chairs.

Jennifer Kauffman Kelly Knight
Monaview Elementary School Fork Shoals School
10 Monaview St.

Greenville, SC  29617

916 McKelvey Rd.

Pelzer, SC  29669

(864) 355-4300 (864) 355-5005
jkauffma@greenville.k12.sc.us klknight@greenville.k12.sc.us