Mar 22, 2012
Curtis Rogers


We hope that you will help us identify those who have had a statewide impact on literacy, by nominating individuals or groups for the South Carolina Annual Literacy Leader (ALL) awards for 2012.

The ALL awards are presented by the School of Library and Information Science at the University of South Carolina in the fall of each year to from one to three individuals and / or groups who have had a statewide impact on literacy in South Carolina. Their contributions can include the following kinds of activities:

  • developing and implementing innovative and creative approaches to literacy education;
  • establishing models of best practices in literacy education;
  • providing service to under-served groups and communities;
  • providing funding and support for these kinds of programs; or
  • making other statewide contributions deemed appropriate by the Committee.

Recipients can be any individuals, agencies, organizations or corporations with a local presence in South Carolina, regardless of their primary place of residence or corporate headquarters.

Nominations should take the form of a one-page letter summarizing the statewide impact of the nominee with respect to the award criteria. Nominations should be received no later than April 23, 2012.

Send your nominations by email to:

Bobbi Kennedy, Chair of the ALL Nominations Committee  and Sam Hastings, Director SLIS or by mail to:

Dr. S. K. Hastings
School of Library and Information Science
University of South Carolina
Davis College
1501 Greene St.
Columbia, SC 29208

Previous Winners Include:

2007 Recipients:

Hon. Gilda Cobb-Hunter
Hon. Lanny Littlejohn
Rachel Hodges
Tommy Preston
Dr. Dan Barron

2008 Recipients:

REACH 2010 MUSC, Georgetown and Charleston County Public Libraries
South Carolina ETV
Jane Connor, State Library

2009 Recipients:

Callee Boulware and SC Reach Out and Read
Rodney Graves, Spartanburg High School
Ida Thompson, Richland One

2010 Recipients:

AT&T African American History Calendar
Charleston: A Community of Readers
Ginger Shuler, Richland County Public Library

2011 Recipients:

Spartanburg County Public Libraries’ Children’s Department
Junior Achievement of Central SC
Sarah Katherine DeVenny

We appreciate your help in recognizing these important people and organizations who contribute so much to our state.  The tentative date for the 2012 award ceremony is Tuesday September 11, 2012.


Bobbi Kennedy

Chair, Annual Literacy Leaders Awards Nominating Committee